Wednesday, July 10, 2024
HomeCricketICC Cricket World Cup Winners List, Australia won the Cricket World Cup...

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List, Australia won the Cricket World Cup 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup winners list: Cricket is a game that is watched and loved by millions of people all over the world, especially in the Indian subcontinent. The Cricket World Cup started in 1975 and was hosted by England. Since then till now this tournament has been organized a total of 13 times. Its last edition took place in 2023 and the next one is due in 2027.

In this article, we are going to talk about the ICC Cricket World Cup winners list 2023.

Cricket World Cup Winners List

ICC Cricket World Cup winners list – 2023

The first edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup was held in England in 1975, the final of that year saw two of the most powerful teams of that time face to face, and that was Australia and the West Indies. West Indies won the 1975 Cricket World Cup by defeating Australia. Its format was One Day International in which each inning was of 60 overs.

India’s journey in this tournament has been good. India won its first title winning the 1983 Cricket World Cup. India and West Indies faced each other in the final of this tournament. Everyone expected that the West Indies would win it very easily because at that time there was no team as strong as the West Indies.

But something else happened, India won the 1983 Cricket World Cup by defeating the West Indies. After that, India had to wait 28 years to win this tournament and India ended this wait by winning the 2011 Cricket World Cup. India had an opportunity to win another World Cup which it could not capitalize on. India was in the final of the Cricket World Cup 2023 but could not win it.

Cricket World Cup winners list: CWC 2023

Australia has won the Cricket World Cup 2023. Australia faced India in the final. This match was played on 19 November 2023 at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. In this match, Australia won the toss and asked India to bat. India, which was undefeated throughout the tournament, had won 10 consecutive matches.

But this match was not good for them, none of the Indian batsmen could handle the team’s innings well and the entire team could only score 240. Which the Australian team achieved very easily at the loss of only 4 wickets.

The ICC Cricket World Cup winners list till 2023

Here is the list of ICC Cricket World Cup winners list:

YearHostWinnerRunner-UpWon By
1975EnglandWest IndiesAustralia17 runs
1979EnglandWest IndiesEngland92 runs
1983EnglandIndiaWest Indies43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustraliaEngland7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistanEngland22 runs
1996India and PakistanSrilankaAustralia7 wickets
1999EnglandAustraliaPakistan8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustraliaIndia125 runs
2007West IndiesAustraliaSrilanka53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndiaSrilanka6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustraliaNew Zealand7 wickets
2019England and WalesEnglandNew ZealandThe match was tied even after 50 overs and a super, the winner was declared on the basis of boundaries count
2023IndiaAustraliaIndia6 wickets
ICC Cricket World Cup winners list till 2023

Australia has won this tournament the most number of times in the 13 Cricket World Cups played so far. Australia has won the trophy six times, India and the West Indies twice, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and England once, and South Africa and New Zealand have not even won the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Cricket World Cup Winners List

ICC Cricket World Cup winners list: Most won by Country

CountryWinnerFinal AppearanceRunner-UpYear WonYear Runner-Up
Australia6821987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 20231987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015
India2421983 and 20112003 and 2023
West indies2311975 and 19791983
England14320191979, 1987 and 1992
Srilanka13219962007 and 2011
New Zealand0222015 and 2019

South Africa is a very good team but they never got included in the ICC Cricket World Cup winners list, and never reached the finals, even after coming very close many times they were left behind. On the other hand, New Zealand reached the finals twice but could never become a winner.

Also Read: Double Centuries in ODI

Frequently Asked Questions

Question 1. Which country has won the World Cup the maximum number of times?

Answer. Australia is the only country to have won the World Cup 6 times, including 3 consecutive times, in 1999, 2003, and 2007.

Question 2. How many times has India won the World Cup?

Answer. India has won the Cricket World Cup twice, first in 1983 and then in 2011.

Question 3. Who is the first Indian woman cricketer?

Answer. Gargi Banerjee

Question 4. How many times has England won the Cricket World Cup?

Answer. England has reached the final 4 times since then, out of which they have won the trophy only once in 2019.

Question 5. Who won the Cricket World Cup 2023?

Answer: Australia won the Cricket World Cup in 2023. They defeated India by 6 wickets and won their 6th World Cup.

Ankit Singh
Ankit Singh
Meet Ankit Singh, a passionate sports lover and writer for thesportsinsights news portal. With a deep understanding of the sports world and a love for all things athletic, Ankit Singh brings a unique perspective to the team of writers at thesportsinsights.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Recent