Tuesday, November 28, 2023
HomeCricketAsia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023: Cricket is such a game that has made millions of people crazy about it. Especially in the Indian subcontinent. As a result of this, this region has its own international cricket tournament named Asia Cup. The Asia Cup is a once in two years tournament. It started in the year 1984. This tournament is organized by the Asian Cricket Council. At present India is the President of this council. Its latest edition was organized in 2023.

In this post, we are going to talk about the Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023.

Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

There have been 16 editions of the Asia Cup so far, its 16th edition was organized in 2023, although it was to be organized in Pakistan but it could not be decided in which country it should be organized. This year’s hosting was with Pakistan, so this year’s Asia Cup was to be held in Pakistan, but due to the poor security situation in Pakistan, India does not want to send its team there. That’s why Pakistan and Sri Lanka hosted Asia Cup 2023 together

In all the editions held so far, India has participated in this tournament every time except one. India is the only team that has been the most consistent. India has reached the finals of the Asia Cup 11 times out of the 16 editions held so far. India has won the tournament a total of 8 times, Sri Lanka 6 times and Pakistan only 2 times.

List of Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Here is the list of Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023:

2023Srilanka and PakistanIndiaSrilanka
Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023: Country-wise

Since its inception in 1984, the Asia Cup has been held 16 times and its 16th edition was held in 2023. Its first edition was held in the UAE and India and Sri Lanka faced each other in the final, in which India won the Asia Cup by defeating Sri Lanka. India has won it the most number of times in all the editions played so far.

CountryFinal AppearanceWinnerRunner-UpYear
India11831984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018, 2023
Srilanka12661986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan5232000, 2012
Hong Kong
Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Winner: Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup 2022 began on 27 August 2022 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). In its first match, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka had a face-to-face, in which Afghanistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets while surprising everyone. The final of this tournament was played on 11 September 2022. Sri Lanka and Pakistan were in front of each other in the final, in this match Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 23 runs to win the Asia Cup for the 6th time.

Asia Cup winners list: 2018

The Men in Blue won the 14th edition of the Asia Cup played in 2018. This was India’s 7th Asia Cup title which India had won. India won Group B and the Super Fours points standings as Rohit Sharma served as captain to advance to the championship game. In the Asia Cup final, they defeated Bangladesh by three wickets.

Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023: Captain

The Asia Cup is an inter-Asian cricket tournament that was created by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). The procedure was to be carried out twice every two years. The three Asian cricketing giants, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, participated in the 1984 Asia Cup as competitors. It has been one of the most politically contentious cricket matches due to the tight political relations among Asian countries. Since it started, this competition has seen 16 iterations, including 2 T20 and 14 ODI tournaments. The 16th edition of 2023 was played as an ODI format in Sri Lanka and Pakistan because the next ODI World Cup was staged in India.

Here is the Winning Captain in the Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023:

YearWinning CaptainWinning Team
1984Sunil GavskarIndia
1986Duleep MendisSri Lanka
1988Dilip VengsarkerIndia
1990-91Md AzharuddinIndia
1995Md AzharuddinIndia
1997Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka
2000Moin KhanPakistan
2004Marven AttapattuSri Lanka
2008Mahila JayawardaneSri Lanka
2010MS DhoniIndia
2012Mishba Ul HaqPakistan
2014Angelo MethewsSri Lanka
2016MS DhoniIndia
2018Rohit SharmaIndia
2022Dasun ShanakaSri Lanka
2023Rohit SharmaIndia
Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup winners list: Women’s

The most successful team in the history of the Women’s Asia Cup is India, who have won the title seven times. The Women’s Asia Cup was contested in the ODI format for its first four iterations, from 2004 to 2008; however, starting in 2012 and through to the present, all following iterations have been played in the T20I format. India Women have a history of sweeping this contest, winning seven of the event’s eight occurrences.

2004IndiaSri Lanka
2005-06IndiaSri Lanka
2006IndiaSri Lanka
2008IndiaSri Lanka
2022IndiaSri Lanka
Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List

FAQ On Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Question 1. From which year Asia Cup is being organized?

Answer. Asia Cup was started in 1984, and since then its 16 editions have been organized till now.

Question 2. Which nation holds the record for most Asia Cup victories?

Answer. The country that has won the Asia Cup the maximum number of times in India, India has won it 8 times so far.

Question 3. India’s triumph at the Asia Cup occurred in which year?

Answer. Seven times in all, India won the Asia Cup: in 1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018 and 2023.

Question 4. How many nations took part in the 2023 Asia Cup?

Answer. India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Nepal participated in the Asia Cup 2023.

Question 5. Who was the runner-up in the Asia Cup 1984?

Answer. Sri Lanka was the runner-up in the Asia Cup 1984

Ankit Singh
Ankit Singhhttps://thesportsinsights.com/
Meet Ankit Singh, a passionate sports lover and writer for thesportsinsights news portal. With a deep understanding of the sports world and a love for all things athletic, Ankit Singh brings a unique perspective to the team of writers at thesportsinsights.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Recent