Sunday, June 4, 2023
HomeCricketAsia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2022

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2022

Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2022: Cricket is such a game that has made millions of people crazy about it. Especially in the Indian subcontinent. As a result of this, this region has its own international cricket tournament named Asia Cup. The Asia Cup is a once in two years tournament. It started in the year 1984. This tournament is organized by the Asian Cricket Council. At present India is the President of this council. Its next edition will be organized in the year 2023.

In this post, we are going to talk about the Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2022.

asia cup winners List 1984 to 2022

Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2022

There have been 15 editions of the Asia Cup so far, its 16th edition is to be held in 2023, but it has not yet been decided in which country it will be held. This year’s host is with Pakistan, due to which this year’s Asia Cup was to be held in Pakistan, but the Security condition is not good in Pakistan, So that, India does not want to send its team there.

In all the editions held so far, India has participated in this tournament every time except one. India is the only team that has been the most consistent. India has reached the finals of the Asia Cup 10 times out of the 15 editions held so far. India has won the tournament a total of 7 times, Sri Lanka 6 times and Pakistan only 2 times.

List of Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2022

Here is the list of Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2022:


Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2022: Country wise

Since its inception in 1984, the Asia Cup has been held 15 times and its 16th edition will be held in 2023. Its first edition was held in the UAE and India and Sri Lanka faced each other in the final, in which India won the Asia Cup by defeating Sri Lanka. India has won it the most number of times in all the editions played so far.

CountryFinal AppearanceWinnerRunner-UpYear
India10731984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
Srilanka12661986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan5232000, 2012
Hong Kong

Winner: Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup 2022 began on 27 August 2022 in United Arab Emirates (UAE). In its first match, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka had a face-to-face, in which Afghanistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets while surprising everyone. The final of this tournament was played on 11 September 2022. Sri Lanka and Pakistan were in front of each other in the final, in this match Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 23 runs to win the Asia Cup for the 6th time.

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List

FAQ On Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2022

Question 1. From which year Asia Cup is being organized?

Answer. Asia Cup was started in 1984, and since then its 15 editions have been organized till now.

Question 2. Which nation holds the record for most Asia Cup victories?

Answer. The country that has won the Asia Cup the maximum number of times in India, India has won it 7 times so far.

Question 3. India’s triumph at the Asia Cup occurred in which year?

Answer. Seven times in all, India won the Asia Cup: in 1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, and 2018.

Question 4. How many nations took part in the 2022 Asia Cup?

Answer. India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Hong Kong participated in the Asia Cup 2022.

Question 5. Who was the runner-up in Asia Cup 1984?

Answer. Sri Lanka was the runner-up in the Asia Cup 1984

Meet Ankit Singh, a passionate sports lover and writer for thesportsinsights news portal. With a deep understanding of the sports world and a love for all things athletic, Ankit Singh brings a unique perspective to the team of writers at thesportsinsights.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Recent